Customer Testimonials

david r

wrote a review on May 29, 2021

Unexpected excellence!

Started out for Brisbane CBD lunch unfortunately was canceled which turn out to be something special. Headed for Mt Tambourine to sample Ross Howells latest offering after Pippin Took at Bardon and Dish at Milton. To say we found the meal excellent was an understatement, the bride chose the zucchini/halloumi fritters and the beef cheek. I chose the cauliflower veloute and confit duck then shared a baked custard that had a wobble like a pannacotta. To say a pleasure in every bite is something I rarely have enjoyed. A marvellous lunch experience one I dare say will occur again and again. Thank You!!!


Sandi Morel recommends PippinTook2.

May 28 at 6:50 PM ·

Delicious food and environment. Hosts where so friendly


Lance MadKiwi Scott recommends PippinTook2.

May 15 at 9:37 PM ·

just had an amazing time with Helen from Pippin Took who looked after my mother in law for her 80th. that was an amazing evening. thank you

Excellent Food and Service


Visited Pippin Took2 in March 2021 on recommendation of friends. Probably a little remote location but more than compensated by the very high quality of french food prepared and served by the husband and wife owners. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: March 2021



Sigrid Atkinson

recommends PippinTook2.

March 20 ·

Wow ! I am a foodie.. what a great restaurant great service awesome food a hidden gem must try it would totally recommend going there, thank you Helen for making our lunch experience special . Been around the world this is truly amazing food my tummy was singing

on recommends PippinTook2.


February 21 ·

Awesome food great warm atmosphere

Teresa MacAuslan recommends PippinTook2.


February 21 ·

Intimate lunch with friends here. Great French food and friendly service. A gem in Mt Tambourine we will definitely be back


Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

SUPERB!!!!

My Wife and I had the most Wonderful Experience this evening at this exceptional Restaurant From the Heart felt Welcome at the door To the Gracious Farewell Both Food and Service are are absolutely Top Shelf Atmosphere marvellous Many Thanks To Helen and Ross

Date of visit: January 2021


Karen B

1Reviewed 6 December 2020

Absolutley Delicious

This restaurant is a little Gem, with delicious French inspired cuisine and fabulous service. I would whole heartedly recommend you visit.


Reviewed 13 August 2020

My 70th Birthday Dinner

I had a memorable experience for my 70th birthday dinner at Pippin Took2. The food, the staff and the setting were exceptional; I couldn't have asked for more to celebrate my milestone birthday! Thank you Helen and your staff for making it perfect!

Date of visit: August 2020


JasJu2016

Sydney, Australia


Reviewed August 12, 2020

Amazing food, service and atmosphere

We recently celebrated our mum's 70th birthday at Pippin Took2 for dinner. We organised a set menu with alternate service for 12 people and there were so many highlights I needed to share. Firstly the quaint little restaurant created an intimate atmosphere where we had pre-dinner drinks with canapes by a fire pit in there little courtyard. Then we moved inside for the dinner and the food was sensational, or as my mum would say "to die for"! Finally the personal service and attention we received from Helen and Ross was exceptional, particularly coming from a hospitality background myself.

I would highly recommend this restaurant whether it be for a dinner or a function.

Thank you Helen and all for making this night so special for our mum.


Julie-AnneHarrison

Brisbane, Australia


Reviewed July 9, 2020

Excellent dining experience

Our family recently celebrated our Mum's birthday by having lunch at this lovely restaurant. We had planned to have an April celebration but COVID got in the way.

We arrived 3 months later and the occasion was not missed by Helen who was a wonderfully attentive hostess. Our meals were all superb!!

Thanks to Ross the chef and Helen for making the occasion special for Mum, and for us all!

KateAED


Reviewed July 4, 2020 via mobile

Hidden Gem

This restaurant has amazing food! We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal. Everything was cooked perfectly. Friendly service and pleasant environment.


Date of visit: July 2020

PeteBarb2018

Brisbane Region, Australia

1

Reviewed June 20, 2020

DINNER WITH FRIENDS

First time for us at this french restaurant. First impressions were that it was a smart elegant atmosphere. Service was prompt and attentive. Menu, though limited, did give scope to provide good meal choices. We tried most entrees, mains and a desert. Food was very good. Will definitely come back and recommend it to others.

Genjen

Brisbane, Australia


Reviewed January 6, 2020

Perfect in every way

It was by accident we found this restaurant, and boy a find.

Helen was so friendly and helpful. Love the decor, with the French feel, vintage and retro, as soon as I walked in In was in love. The food is fabulous, great range of gf choices. We can't wait to go back.

The venue is classy but casual, you get The best of both worlds. Highly recommend a visit.


Kay Flynn Williams recommends PippinTook2.

29/08/20

Fabulous Afternoon at this beautifully appointed restaurant 💐 Exquisite decor, Fabulous Food and Service 👌 Thank you Helen ,& Ross  for a wonderful Sunday experience 🙏🏻

Wade Curtis recommends PippinTook2.

29/08/20

Had an amazing lunch today. Awesome food and service! A hidden gem. Probably the best food on Tambourine Mt and leaves a lot of other restaurants for dead! 30 years ago Helen was my TAFE teacher in a school based hospitality course and she hasn’t lost any of her passion! Thanks for talking me out of being a chef Helen!

Greg Reed recommends PippinTook2.

July 10 2020

Sensational French restaurant; best on the mountain. Super talented chef creating delicious food

Kerryn Dodd recommends PippinTook2.

July 4 at 9:16 PM ·

We had such a lovely dinner tonight. A real hidden gem up the mountain. Food was delicious and Helen was so engaging. Beautiful atmosphere .. looking forward to coming back!!!

Creative cuisine · Great food · Romantic atmosphere · Casual

Karna Louise recommends PippinTook2.

July 4 at 7:04 AM ·

Helen was delightful ensuring our special dining experience was all it could be. And the food was perfect for a winter’s night - perfectly cooked beef cheeks and mash with crispy vegetables and the most delicately balanced apple tart with ice cream-the pastry so thin and delicious and between each layer the most thinly sliced apples. Thanks for a wonderful night @PippinTook2.

Paul Terence recommends PippinTook2.

June 27 at 8:27 PM ·

The food, atmosphere and service are all of superior quality. Absolutely amazing delicious food. Ross is an exemplary chef and Helen provides a thoroughly professional service with a smile. Book a table today.

You won't be disappointed.

Ben Arnott recommends PippinTook2.

Saturday 13th. June 2020

One of the best dining experiences I’ve had for a long long time and definitely one of the best restaurants on the Gold Coast. 

Hi Helen,

Just wanted to extend a massive thanks for making my mum’s birthday lunch at the restaurant so memorable and fantastic.


We all loved the food, the restaurant and your very kind & welcoming charisma. I think for mum and dad in particular lunch was such a high point as there was a bit of a trip down memory lane.


Our very best compliments to Ross and his amazing cooking. I have to say those deserts were really hit my sweet tooth and next time I definitely want to try that chocolate mousse.


I’m Mum & Dad will be back with their group friends at some point in time.


Again, I can’t think you enough for making the day so special for us 

kerryanne wheeler

15/03/20


Popping Took2 is a fantastic place to wine and dine. Exquisite decor and food. Hosts are terrific and fun

michael downey

29/02/2020


We had a very special family lunch planned and PippinTook2 was perfect. The welcome and service was exceptional. The food was perfect (considering that we had two generations of chefs dining, this is not an exaggeration). Good food treated with care and respect cannot be beaten. Every course and selection was a delight. Will be back, even without a special occasion to celebrate.

Martin Klopper

29/02/2020


Spectacular service, sublime food - we can’t get enough

Jo Colman recommends Pippin Took².

29/02/20

The food and the service are next to none. We’ll be back for sure. Thank you Helen and Ross once again. We’re so fortunate to have such a lovely restaurant.

Fine dining · Stylish interior · Large menu · Great food

Linda Schier

21/02/2020


Never disappoints. Food is marvellous, decor is lovely and Helen keeps the front of house going with her friendly flamboyance


Ilse Boysen

18/02/2020

had fun, and the food was exellent

Caiwen Jane recommends PippinTook2.

12January 2020 ·

Thank you so much for an amazing meal the food was very yummy, just perfect couldn’t fault it! Heaps of gluten free options as well which was great.

Radosveta Kiem recommends PippinTook2.

David King

11 January 16 hours ago


Fabulous food, wonderful atmosphere and super friendly


Marralla Voss

A hidden gem. Fantastic food and personalised service. We started with Peking duck spring rolls to share followed by Beer battered barramundi with gorgeous fries and my partner had pan roasted chicken with baked polenta and chasseur sauce with a side of steamed veg. Desserts were to die for. Toffee date pudding with caramel sauce and salted caramel ice cream and Callebaut mousse au chocolate. We will be back

Pippin Took2 (owner)

10 weeks ago


Thanks so much Marralla. Extremely glad you enjoyed lunch. Hope to see you again, very soon. Cheers. Helen

Wayne Boatwright

13 weeks ago


The user didn't write a review, and has left just a rating.


Pippin Took2 (owner)

6 weeks ago


Thank you for the five-star rating. We really appreciate the support.


Lucy Lawrie

16 weeks ago


Fantastic spot. The food is delicious and the host was very hospitable. I love that it is BYO.


Pippin Took2 (owner)

16 weeks ago


Thank you Lucy. So glad you had a great night. Cheers Helen

2 November at 21:46 ·

Stylish small place with high quality fine food and excellent service. BYO.

Highly recommend. We will be back.

Stylish interior · Farm-to-table · Romantic atmosphere · Healthy options


Sean Flynn recommends PippinTook2.

January 8 at 2:23 PM ·

We recently had a family celebration and 7 of us went to PippinTook2 for a night out.

The food , atmosphere and Helen our host , were absolutely fantastic and we couldn’t have been looked after any better.

Throughly recommended and we will be back

Sean

Kristine Simmonds recommends PippinTook2.

January 8 at 11:49 AM ·

Magnificent. Tamborine residents are so lucky to have this place on their doorstep. Friendly service, fine dining atmosphere, unbelievably good food, I don’t even know where to start describing it all. I have posted some photos but I am sure the menu will change seasonally and be just as good no matter what is on offer. Stunning presentation and equally stunning flavours, a beautiful experience. Catered for my coeliac partner with a separate and generous menu that felt like it was curated with care and attention to ensure his dining experience wasn’t compromised in any way. He commented that our dinner at Pippin Took 2 has “ruined dining out for us forever” because it was so good that we will be hard pressed to find an equal. I can’t wait to go back. P.S. the prices are a surprise, equal to or cheaper than other, less impressive, places on the mountain.


`Thank you so so much for the most magnificent dinner we’ve ever had. David is normally scared to try new things - he “doesn’t like cauliflower” but you made the soup sound so good he had to try it. He said it was like if you wished for a magic bowl that tasted like all your favourite things. The mains were both amazing, next time I’d get the gluten free version too, that beurre blanc was to die for. 

Jennifer Enright recommends PippinTook2.

January 5 at 2:11 PM ·

perfect in every way. We have found a new favourite. beautiful service, excellent food and amazing decor. GF options galore. Can't wait to return.


Villa della Rosa Bed and Breakfast

December 27, 2019 at 11:55 AM · Mount Tamborine, QLD ·

Thank you to Ross and Helen @pippintook2 for a spectacular #christmaslunch - stylish, tasty and beautiful! @ PippinTook2


Claudio Draghi recommends PippinTook2.

December 18, 2019 at 9:27 PM ·

Absolutely superb again. Our second visit and loved it

Child-friendly · Romantic atmosphere · Fine dining · Creative cuisine


Michael Kratzke recommends PippinTook2.

December 4, 2019 ·

Amazing food and fabulous service! Words can’t express how much we love it! ❤️

Great food · Chic décor · Fine dining · Stylish interior · Creative cuisine · Outdoor dining

Philip Shadlow recommends PippinTook2.

November 8, 2019 ·

Thanks Ross & Helen for a wonderful lunch, it was great to catch up again. Splendid as always.



Radosveta Kiem recommends PippinTook2.

November 2, 2019 ·

Stylish small place with high quality fine food and excellent service. BYO.

Highly recommend. We will be back.

Stylish interior · Farm-to-table · Romantic atmosphere · Healthy options


Lucy Lawrie

2nd November 2019


Fantastic spot. The food is delicious and the host was very hospitable. I love that it is BYO.



Linda Lehmann recommends PippinTook2.

20 September ·

What a wonderful little gem! Felt so welcome, Helen is the perfect host and the food is fabulous.

We will definitely make this our go to for our date nights 💕

5*****

Cosy atmosphere · Fine dining · Romantic atmosphere

Jo Colman recommends PippinTook2.

1 September ·

Amazing food fantastic service. So glad you’re back doing your thing. 😊

Great food



JKY223

1st September 2019


Epic food, atmosphere and service. Enjoyed every aspect of this cosy little restaurant.



PippinTook2

31 August ·

Harvey Young

We did not have a reservation for a Saturday, however Helen found us a table and we had an incredible meal. Appetizers were shared and had incredibly wonderful flavors and textures. Mains were as impressive as any hatted restaurant Australia has. Dessert- well even the caramel ice cream is hand made by Ross. French press coffee to keep you awake from the food coma and the drive back down the mountain. Perfect experience. As Peregrine Took would highly recommend, eat and drink like a carefree Hobbit at this highly acclaimed restaurant.

Darren Kellett recommends PippinTook2.

29 August ·

Had a wonderful experience dining at PippinTook2 last night for my birthday. Owners are very friendly and professional and went out of the way to accommodate us with our 3 young girls. The food was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended

Fine dining · Romantic atmosphere



Joan Colman recommends PippinTook2.

27 August ·

Fabulous ! Congratulations to you both the food was amazing we’ll be back, Mt Tamborine so lucky to have you



Caron Krauth recommends PippinTook2.

9 August ·

Went for the set menu dinner last night and was hugely impressed! Excellent food and service, beautifully cooked and presented in a lovely flower filled atmosphere. Trés trés délicieuse. We will be back to try some of the other wonderful looking dishes on the menu!

Mark Gould recommends PippinTook2.

9 August ·

The food was excellent, service good and ambiance pleasant. Each part of every course of the meal was tasty. I had to restrain myself from licking the plates.

Delicious food



Thomas McConnell recommends PippinTook2.

2 August ·

If you appreciate the art of Fine Dining and what it entails , the precision of Planning , Preparing and Presenting Great Food then this is the place for you and your Friends. There s no shortcuts here and the evidence is on the Plate when it arrives. Excite your taste Buds with Cuisine by Ross and Impeccable Service again by ' Helen ..... they make a Great Team .... Why don't you make their day and Book a Table

Tom McConnell .. Culinary Olympic Gold Medallist and Winner of Chef of the Year .

Chic décor · Tasting menus · Best brunch · Cosy atmosphere · Great food · Romantic atmosphere · Creative cuisine · Healthy options · Fine dining



Nick Gowan recommends PippinTook2.

5 July ·

Amazing food and great service at reasonable prices

Emma Lou recommends PippinTook2.

15 June ·

Had a wonderful evening last night with delicious food and a warm welcoming atmosphere created by Helen. We are keen to return and sample other dishes. See you soon 😊

Cosy atmosphere · Great food



Penny Imrie recommends PippinTook2.

3 June ·

Delicious lunch and such friendly staff. Def recommend:)



Þórir Sandholt recommends PippinTook2.

1 June ·

Great experience with classic French menu and quality food and nice surroundings. Good service. Recommended.

Cosy atmosphere · Creative cuisine · Great food · Fine dining



Linda Schier recommends PippinTook2.

30 May ·

Wow, what a find on Tamborine Mountain! Food was wonderful, masterful, delicious! Chicken Chasseur took me back to something I tasted in France. a great overall experience. we will be back ( a lot)

Gary Freeman recommends PippinTook2.

22 May ·

PippinTook2 provide excellence in dining on the Mountain. Excellent food and service at affordable prices.

We will be back ,as we would love to try the amazing deserts, yet we were to full after the entree and mains. The duck is sensational.

Ross is a incredibly talented chef.

Fine dining



Sue Mogel recommends PippinTook2.

14 May ·

Fabulous ambiance, great service, gorgeous food



Bron Kelly recommends PippinTook2.

10 May ·

Refined French inspired food...so good I’ve eaten there two nights in a row. Absolutely cannot fault Ross’ food nor Helen’s service. Thank you so much for setting up on the mountain, finally!

Rachelle Barrett recommends PippinTook2.

6 May ·

Flawless!!!!!! Well executed and exciting ❤️❤️❤️❤️ ❤️❤️ loved every mouthful!

Creative cuisine



Kim Gibbs recommends PippinTook2.

6 May ·

Love 💕 💕Food Amazing Hip Decor Great Food Great Hospitality Best Place onTambourine Mountain Eagle Heights Best Chef 💋🍷

Fine dining · Stylish interior · Outdoor dining · Chic décor · Child-friendly · Hip atmosphere · Cosy atmosphere · Great food · Comfort food

Submit a Testimonial

This site uses Google reCAPTCHA technology to fight spam. Your use of reCAPTCHA is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
0